Stockport and South Manchester Branch

Stockport & South Manchester: Contact: Mark McConachie

The boundaries between CAMRA branches in Greater Manchester follow a rather illogical pattern, the reasons for which go back to the early history of CAMRA. The area covered by the Stockport & South Manchester Branch is roughly as follows:


The greater part of the Metropolitan Borough of Stockport including Stockport Town Centre, Brinnington, Offerton, Great Moor, Hazel Grove, Bramhall, Woodford, Cheadle Hulme, Cheadle, Gatley, Heald Green, Adswood, Cheadle Heath, Edgeley, the Four Heatons (Chapel, Mersey, Moor and Norris) and Reddish.
The remaining area on the eastern side of Stockport MBC, including the districts of High Lane, Marple, Compstall, Bredbury, Romiley and Woodley is covered by the High Peak and North East Cheshire Branch.

South Manchester

The whole of the south-eastern part of the city from Princess Parkway to the River Medlock, including the districts of Wythenshawe, Northenden, Didsbury, Withington, Fallowfield, Rusholme, Moss Side, Chorlton-on-Medlock, Burnage, Levenshulme, Longsight, Ardwick, Gorton, Beswick, Bradford, Openshaw and Clayton.
The branch only covers the quadrant of the City Centre south of London Road/Piccadilly and east of Mosley Street and Oxford Road.
The area west of Princess Parkway, and the remainder of the City Centre south of Market Street and west of Mosley Street, is covered by the Trafford & Hulme Branch.
The northern half of Manchester and the whole of the City of Salford, including Eccles, are covered by the North Manchester